Vampire Books…

10 07 2009

Our gals over at Twitarded have this 100-ish ways Twilight Changed my Life list and one that I came across, “I have only read vampire books since January” totally sums it up for me.  It’s like I’ve only done vampire things since the books came into my life. I always wear black, but now I feel like I am doing it with a purpose. If you aren’t pale and kinda creepy… well, I just don’t have time for you. So, when the books were finished, I needed something else to fill the void. I turned to the Sookie Stackhouse (True Blood) series.

w.t.f…. It’s insane how different they are from the Twilight saga, but not… It’s like I went from reading Sweet Valley High (I really hate that I keep dating myself) to some smutty Harlequin (there I go again) romance novel. Don’t get me wrong, it’s pretty tight, but I swear every other page has got me blushing like a nun in a whorehouse. The crazy thing is… they ARE strikingly similar, yet world’s apart (no spoil). Sookie’s been covered in feathers since page 17. A lot of f***ing feathers (spoil).

I’m only finishing the first novel and I have like 10 others to go, but I’m kinda psyched. It’s like reading about the Cullens’ country fam to the south, that they never invite over… because they only listen to Lynyrd Skynyrd and put cigarettes out on their tongues. Maybe that’s a little dramatic. Read them, love them, thank me later.

Actions

Information

4 responses

10 07 2009
alliecupcake

YES I agree, they are tight. im at the end of book 3: Club Dead. Just the name makes me feel like im reading some sort of “supernatural erotica”…oh wait I am.
The effing only gets better.

10 07 2009
Tifa

I read the first 8 ravenously in about 3 weeks and pre-ordered the latest book, then read it twice before I had it more than 6 days! You will get used to the overabundance of pretty much NC-17 sex and you will appreciate the adult qualities of the books pretty quickly. I’m totally obsessed with them now. I mean I love me some Twilight, but I gotta give Ms. Harris (and Allen Ball) some props. They sure know how to get a girl hooked. In fact, I’m wearing a Bon Temps Football t-shirt as I’m typing this. Dork to the maxxx. Did I mention I named my puppy Sookie? Jus sayin.

10 07 2009
alliecupcake

I admire you for all of the above Tifa, but you are a Sig O first! and I kind of wish your dog’s name was Bella. Jus Sayin.

10 07 2009
Tifa

I kinda didn’t have a choice. My friend Sarah named her bulldog Bella.

Leave a Reply

